Do You Comment on Blogs?

I am an avid follower of about 20 blogs, via email.  They vary in topics from personal life stuff, business topics relating to my industry, entrepreneurship, hobbies, spiritual, and minimalistic simplification blogs that inspire me.

I like to receive the blogs I follow via email because if a post is a good one, I can easily forward it to a friend.  If it’s one I want to keep, I just put it in a folder for the topic that it applies to.  Everyone has their own form, some people prefer RSS Feed.  I don’t.  Maybe it’s because I haven’t found a way to make it work for me.  Regardless, I love being inspired by blog posts.  I look forward to them each day.

Any topic the blogger writes about that grips me, I comment on.  I share.  I engage.  I reflect.  I ask questions.  Does the average person do so?  No.  Why do I say this?  Because I have blogged business wise since 2010 [two blogs with exact same content, a WordPress.com and a WordPress.org] and personally since 2007.  Do you know how many people comment?  Very few, ever.  The most comments I get on the business blog is SPAM material.  I believe there are lots of reasons for this, but that’s a topic for another post.  Today I want to share why I comment as I do.

I want the writer to know their efforts were not in vain.  I want them to know that their content was interesting and that it had value.  I want them to know what they shared meant something to me.  I want them to get feedback so if the topic could be expounded on even to a deeper level, they will use the comments to generate more blog posts with additional thoughts.  I wish to create a relationship.  I want them to know they matter to me.  I want to support them.  I want to learn.  I want to maximize the learning.  I want to engage other readers.  I want to share hope.  I want to make a difference.  I want them to be inspired.  I want the comments to increase their rankings through Google.

Are you a blog follower?  Why do you comment on blogs?  Will you share your blog if you have one?

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

