You should just Quit!

Do you ever get told, “You should just quit!”

Really?  When was that an option?  Don’t get me wrong, there are times quitting is an option.  But is it always an option?

I have been in the Healthcare Industry for 16 years.  I have been through times when things have been trudging along at a nice pace, sort of like when you have your car set on cruise control and things just are chiming along nicely…and I have been through times when things are downright insane, you wonder if you have time breathe let alone eat, and you can’t see worth a flip because the work is piled up so high that all you can do is keep plugging away.  I have had one of those spells.  During it, I have been questioned why I don’t just quit.  I have been told I am crazy not to.  I have been told you can just do anything and there is no need to continue in that mess.

Let’s think about this.  What does quitting get me?  Starting over…doing what?  At the bottom and working up…to what?

The questions made me weary.  I was so tired from the grueling schedule and challenges that trying to think of why I wasn’t quitting made me even more tired.  I felt like I wasn’t being heard and listened to, let alone understood.  However, I decided I would answer the question, Why don’t I just quit?

In reflecting, it made me realize, I have answers as to why I don’t just quit:

  1. Quitting is a sure way of having No Money coming in.
  2. Quitting is a sure of leaving my clients in a lurch.
  3. Quitting is a sure way to not get any more referrals.
  4. Quitting is a sure way to not continue in following my dream.
  5. Quitting is a sure way to not know what might have been if I had just kept plugging along.
  6. Quitting is a sure way to not become better at what I do.
  7. Quitting is a sure method to avoid the pain of growth.
  8. Quitting gives an allure of peace but doesn’t mean it will produce those results.
  9. Quitting is only something discussed when things are not looking up.
  10. Quitting is always an option…but not for me.

So when you get asked, “Why don’t you just quit?”, what do you say?

May I encourage you to make a list of why you would or would not quit?  I promise you, if you do, it will answer the question.  It helps you regain your focus.  It makes it crystal clear why you are doing what you are doing.  It firms up what is important to you. It will dispel any ideas of quitting from your mind…or it will encourage you to do just that, Quit.

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “You should just Quit!”

  1. Stephanie Bennis Says:

    I’d like to think there is always at least one more option rather than giving up and quitting. I agree with all of the points you made. In situations where I needed to make a career change I always went through the protocol of resigning, not quitting, to ensure final paycheck and a referral from a boss. Doing things in the right order is worth it!

  2. Melissa Gastorf Says:

    I sometimes want to quit. The past few months it has definitely looked like a much simplier solution. But like you said, there are so many people who rely on me. My staff, my patients, and what about the example it shows my kids. If I quit just because things are too hard, well how can I expect them to try and try to succeed and be the best that they can be.
    Also say you or I or anyone else for that matter quits when things get difficult. Try explaining that to a future employer.
    Why did you leave your last job? – It was too hard so I quit.
    Probably won’t get too many bites on that one. I personally would rather see someone who gave it everything and failed (cause let’s be honest, sometimes you will) then to hire someone who quits just because it is too hard.
    It is one thing to go in another direction, but that does not mean you just give up and quit, you get things in order to hand off to someone else, and don’t leave anyone in a lurch.
    Good message

    • medicalaccountsolutions Says:

      Melissa, Thanks for the reply! I relate to your feelings that it seems much simpler a solution to quit right now…but I know it will pass and then we will have new problems to work with! Giving it your all always is a satisfaction in itself even if you don’t fail…but if you do, you know you gave it your best!

      Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

