[2011] …YearInReview

I subscribe to Seth Godin’s blog and in this post he states:  “This might be a useful exercise. Doesn’t matter whether it was a hit or not, it just matters that you shipped it.”

Here’s a basic list from the 2011 year with some of the highlights in my business life:

  • business brochure and postcard were finalized
  • added three small windows to the home office to add more lighting
  • we lost 2 team members and gained 2 team members
  • were offered and accepted several speaking engagements with Armstrong & Purselley Wealth Management Group, to provide information to help others understand their medical benefits and how to maximize them
  • continued attending Networking events and met even more really great business people to refer to and coordinate business with
  • resigned as a Volunteer Board Member with Cowtown Netweavers the end of August 2011
  • expanded our services into the Massage Therapy, Chiropractic and Behavioral Health specialty markets
  • learned Quickbooks in the Mac version (yes, there are pro’s and con’s to it too)
  • obtained 13 additional Clients, providing Accounting Services to some and Medical Billing and Consulting Services to others
  • lost our biggest client and the client we have had the longest, due to the sale of their Medical Pediatric Practice to a large Medical Group
  • experienced loosing a proposal to a potential customer for the first time
  • business revenue up 30% from last year (though last year was down from the year before)
  • marketing expenses kept at the same as 2010
  • gave Dave Ramsey’s new book EntreLeadership released this fall to every client to inspire them in their business
  • provided each client with a pen engraved with their name on it to distribute with the book

Seth’s suggestion:
“You’ll probably be surprised at how much you accomplished last year. Go ahead and share with your friends, colleagues or the web… don’t be shy.”  So I challenge you to do the same!

If that is not for you…try this:
The Simple Dollar, another blog that I follow, suggests:
Think of the five best things that happened in 2011. What were the best things that happened in your life this year? What new relationships did you build? What ones did you reaffirm? What goals did you achieve? What changes occurred in your life that put you in a better place?

If you don’t like that suggestion, I have one more from Chris Guillebeau who writes the blog The Art of Non-Conformity.   He asks: What went well in 2011?  What didn’t go well in 2011?  Maybe that would be an easy approach for you?  You can read the article here.  He also asks: What is your word or theme for the new year?  Very thought provoking article here.

I would love to hear your thoughts…please share with me as I have done with you!

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “[2011] …YearInReview”

  1. Jana Botkin Says:

    Impressive list of what you “shipped” in 2011, Misty! Very thoughtful of you to give Ramsey’s book to your clients. I hope they read it and learn what it takes to stay in business, keep employees and remain a client of yours.

    I like that we read the same blogs – makes me feel validated, somehow. I feel reluctant to publicize my business highlights. It might be the fear that there weren’t any! Ow.

  2. medicalaccountsolutions Says:

    Thank You for comment Jana!

    It was hard to sit and look at a “shipped” list, however I felt it was good for me to do so. I am sure you have a shipped list, it might not be the shipped list you wanted, might not be the shipped list someone else would count, might not be the rating of a shipped list that you think is worth while, but that is not what counts. 🙂 If you want to share your shipped list with me privately, I would love to read it. I realize publishing it is a huge, I get that. My friends are forever telling me that I am too open. Share too much personal stuff. That I need to be more private. I took a risk. I followed the three people above and published it…for the second year in a row.

    I too hope that my clients will take the time to read the EntreLeadership book. I would love that all of them, do but I know realistically that probably won’t happen. If half of them do, then that would be awesome, if one does, I will be thrilled!

    I hope that I can get to know you more through our blogging connections…maybe even our paths will cross?

    HAPPY NEW YEAR to you!

  3. Jana Botkin Says:

    Thank you, Misty, for your kind response! I, too, wonder if I share too much. If I knew how to email you privately, I would! It would force me to look at last year, something I’ve been avoiding. And HAPPY NEW YEAR to you too! It has been fun to connect with you through the blogosphere. Thank you for the comment on my blog!

Leave a Reply

